JOSE ABREU
#79 - 1B
NEWS
Wed, May 22, 2024

12:19 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) manager Joe Espada said Wednesday that Abreu will play for the Florida Complex League on Wednesday and Thursday before reporting to Triple-A Sugar Land this weekend, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Sun, May 19, 2024

4:23 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) GM Dana Brown said Sunday that Abreu could join the team Friday in Oakland, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Tue, May 07, 2024

1:56 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) manager Joe Espada said in an interview with Sports Talk 790 on Tuesday that there is "no timetable" for Abreu's return to the major-league team, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Tue, Apr 30, 2024

4:15 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) GM Dana Brown said Tuesday that Abreu is not with the MLB club and will be optioned to the FCL on Wednesday, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Sat, Apr 27, 2024

5:24 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is starting at first base and batting eighth in Saturday's contest against the Rockies in Mexico City.

Thu, Apr 25, 2024

12:45 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Thursday's game against the Cubs.

Wed, Apr 24, 2024

6:23 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Wednesday's game against the Cubs.

Tue, Apr 16, 2024

6:29 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in the lineup for Tuesday's game against Atlanta, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Fri, Apr 12, 2024

5:36 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) isn't in the Astros' lineup for Friday's game against the Rangers, Brian McTaggart of MLB.com reports.

Thu, Apr 11, 2024

11:30 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in the lineup for Thursday's contest in Kansas City, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports..

Sun, Apr 07, 2024

4:29 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Sunday's matchup against the Rangers, Brian McTaggart of MLB.com reports.

Wed, Apr 03, 2024

4:16 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Wednesday's game against the Blue Jays, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Mon, Apr 01, 2024

4:15 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) (hand) will start at first base and bat sixth in Monday's game versus the Blue Jays, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Sun, Mar 31, 2024

1:12 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Sunday's game against the Yankees due to hand soreness, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

12:19 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup Sunday versus the Yankees.

Sun, Mar 17, 2024

10:07 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) (knee) is batting fifth as the designated hitter in Sunday's Grapefruit League game against the Cardinals, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Fri, Mar 15, 2024

4:01 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) (knee) will go through full workouts Friday and Saturday with the goal of starting at designated hitter in Sunday's Grapefruit League game against the Phillies, Brian McTaggart of MLB.comreports.

Tue, Mar 12, 2024

10:30 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) (knee) could return to Grapefruit League action as soon as Wednesday or Thursday, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Sat, Mar 09, 2024

9:34 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) reported soreness in his right knee following Thursday's spring training game against the Cardinals, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Tue, Sep 19, 2023

2:08 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 2-for-4 with a solo home run, a double and a walk Monday against the Orioles.

Sat, Sep 16, 2023

10:14 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 2-for-4 with a solo home run in Friday's 4-2 loss to the Royals.

Wed, Sep 13, 2023

3:03 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in the lineup for Wednesday's contest against the Athletics, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Wed, Aug 30, 2023

1:36 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Wednesday's game against the Red Sox.

Tue, Aug 29, 2023

9:39 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 2-for-4 with a solo home run, two RBI and two walks Monday against the Red Sox.

Sun, Aug 27, 2023

1:08 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Sunday's game against the Tigers.

Thu, Aug 24, 2023

11:13 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in the lineup for Thursday's game versus the Red Sox, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Wed, Aug 23, 2023

3:50 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) activated Abreu (back) from the 10-day injured list Wednesday. He'll start at first base and bat sixth in the Astros' game against the Red Sox.

Tue, Aug 22, 2023

5:37 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) Dusty Baker said Tuesday that the Astros hope to activate Abreu (back) from the injured list by Thursday, Brian McTaggart of MLB.com reports.

Fri, Aug 18, 2023

5:21 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) manager Dusty Baker said Friday that Abreu (back) has yet to resume swinging a bat, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Sat, Aug 12, 2023

3:55 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) was placed on the 10-day injured list with lower-back inflammation Saturday, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Fri, Aug 11, 2023

4:17 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) (back) remains out of the lineup Friday versus the Angels.

Thu, Aug 10, 2023

11:25 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is absent from the Astros' lineup Thursday in Baltimore because of lower-back discomfort, Joe Trezza of MLB.com reports.

10:19 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in the lineup for Thursday's game in Baltimore, Matt Kawahara of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Sat, Aug 05, 2023

10:24 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in Saturday's lineup against the Yankees.

Sat, Jul 15, 2023

12:43 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 3-for-4 with a walk an RBI and a run scored Friday against the Angels.

Mon, Jul 03, 2023

7:16 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 2-for-5 with a double, a home run, four RBI and an additional run scored in Monday's 12-11 victory over Texas.

Sun, Jul 02, 2023

6:09 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 3-for-5 with a double and a run scored in Sunday's 5-3 win over the Rangers.

Thu, Jun 29, 2023

11:08 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 2-for-4 with a two-run home run and an additional RBI in Wednesday's victory over the Cardinals.

Fri, Jun 23, 2023

6:51 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) isn't in the Astros' lineup Friday against the Dodgers, Matt Kawahara of the San Francisco Chronicle reports.

Wed, Jun 21, 2023

12:29 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is out of the lineup for Wednesday's game against the Mets.

Sat, Jun 17, 2023

11:21 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 1-for-3 with a walk, a double and a run scored Friday against the Reds.

Sun, Jun 11, 2023

3:01 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 2-for-5 with a two-run home run and an additional RBI in Saturday's 6-4 victory versus Cleveland.

Sat, Jun 10, 2023

9:07 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 2-for-7 with a three-run home run in Friday's 10-9 extra-innings loss to the Guardians.

Sun, Jun 04, 2023

12:04 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in the starting lineup versus the Angels on Sunday, Danielle Lerner of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Wed, May 10, 2023

1:31 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) is not in the starting lineup Wednesday against the Angels, Chandler Rome of The Athletic reports.

Tue, May 02, 2023

2:21 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 1-for-4 with two RBI on Monday against the Giants.

Sat, Apr 29, 2023

4:35 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) has been moved down to sixth in the lineup, at least against righties, Brian McTaggart of MLB.com reports.

Wed, Apr 26, 2023

11:05 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 1-for-4 with a double, an RBI and a run scored Tuesday against the Rays.

Tue, Apr 18, 2023

9:03 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 1-for-4 with a double, two RBI and a run scored Monday against the Blue Jays.

Wed, Apr 12, 2023

9:41 AM - Jose Abreu (HOU) went 1-for-5 with three strikeouts Tuesday against the Pirates.

Mon, Nov 28, 2022

2:04 PM - Jose Abreu (HOU) and the Astros agreed Monday on a three-year contract, Bob Nightengale of USA Today reports.

News supplied by Rotowire