RYNE NELSON
#19 - P
NEWS
Sat, Mar 02, 2024

8:44 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) worked on his slider over the offseason, and it's looked sharp early in camp, Steve Gilbert of MLB.com reports.

Sun, Feb 25, 2024

10:26 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed two hits and struck out five over two scoreless innings in Saturday's spring start against the Rockies.

Sat, Feb 24, 2024

8:07 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) will take the mound for Saturday's spring start against the Rockies, Steve Gilbert of MLB.com reports.

Tue, Feb 13, 2024

8:32 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) is expected to compete with Tommy Henry for the final spot in the rotation, Steve Gilbert of MLB.com reports.

Wed, Sep 13, 2023

9:31 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) (7-8) took the loss Tuesday, coughing up six runs on seven hits and two walks over 4.1 innings as the Diamondbacks were downed 7-4 by the Mets. He struck out three.

Mon, Sep 11, 2023

1:44 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) is listed as the Diamondbacks' scheduled starter for Tuesday's game against the Mets at Citi Field.

Fri, Sep 08, 2023

3:20 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) (7-7) earned the win over the Cubs on Thursday, allowing one run on two hits and two walks while striking out three batters over 5.2 innings.

Thu, Sep 07, 2023

5:22 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) was recalled from Triple-A Reno ahead of his scheduled start Thursday versus the Cubs.

Wed, Sep 06, 2023

6:47 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) has worked to improve his slider during his time in the minors, Nick Piecoro of The Arizona Republic reports.

Sun, Aug 13, 2023

12:55 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) was optioned to Triple-A Reno on Sunday.

Sat, Aug 12, 2023

8:13 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) (6-7) yielded six runs on seven hits and a walk over three innings Friday, striking out two and taking a loss against the Padres.

Thu, Jul 20, 2023

3:25 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) (6-5) earned the win over Atlanta on Wednesday, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk while striking out five batters over seven innings.

Sat, Jul 15, 2023

9:36 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) didn't factor into the decision in Friday's 7-2 loss to the Blue Jays, giving up two runs (one earned) on nine hits over 5.2 innings. He struck out three without walking a batter.

Thu, Jun 15, 2023

7:22 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) Torey Lovullo did not commit to Nelson making his next scheduled start, Theo Mackie of The Arizona Republic reports.

Wed, May 17, 2023

7:18 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) did not factor into the decision Wednesday, as he did not surrender a run while allowing one hit and four walks over 5.1 innings in a 5-3 victory over the Athletics. He struck out six.

Sat, May 13, 2023

10:08 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) did not factor into the decision Friday, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk over 4.2 innings against San Francisco. He struck out four.

Wed, Apr 26, 2023

7:13 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) (1-1) was handed his first loss of the season Tuesday against the Royals, allowing four runs on 11 hits while striking out three over five innings.

Sun, Apr 16, 2023

9:41 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) did not factor into the decision Saturday, allowing one run on five hits and zero walks over six innings against the Marlins. He struck out four.

Tue, Apr 04, 2023

10:09 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) did not factor into the decision Monday, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks over five innings in a 5-4 loss against San Diego. He struck out three.

Wed, Mar 29, 2023

9:19 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed one run on four hits while striking out five over 5.2 innings in Tuesday's spring start against Cleveland.

Sun, Mar 26, 2023

12:58 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) was named the Diamondbacks' No. 5 starter Sunday, Nick Piecoro of The Arizona Republic reports.

Fri, Mar 24, 2023

9:01 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed three runs on four hits and two walks while striking out three over 4.2 innings in Thursday's split-squad start against the Cubs.

Sat, Mar 18, 2023

9:49 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed one run on four hits and one walk while striking out six over 4.1 innings in Friday's spring start against Colorado.

Mon, Mar 13, 2023

7:49 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed one run on four hits and one walk while striking out two over 2.2 relief innings during Sunday's spring game against Colorado.

Thu, Mar 09, 2023

7:21 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed four runs on three hits and one walk while striking out six over 2.2 innings in a "B" game against the Rangers on Tuesday, Theo Mackie of the Arizona Republic reports.

Fri, Mar 03, 2023

8:10 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed three runs on four hits and two walks while striking one over 1.2 innings in Thursday's spring game against the Dodgers.

Sun, Feb 26, 2023

9:45 AM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) allowed four runs on four hits and two walks while striking out one over one-plus innings in Saturday's spring game against Colorado. "I think the fastball felt good, fastball command felt good," told Nick Piecoro of the Arizona Republic. "I threw some offspeed pitches I really liked, [but] I think there's still consistency with [offspeed pitches] that can be better."

Thu, Feb 23, 2023

4:35 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) (shoulder) will start the Diamondbacks' Cactus League home opener Saturday against the Rockies, Theo Mackie of the Arizona Republic reports.

Thu, Feb 16, 2023

12:02 PM - Ryne Nelson (ARI) (shoulder) is in the mix for the No. 5 starter job, Nick Piecoro of the Arizona Republic reports.

News supplied by Rotowire